Archive for “February, 2013”

Indie film gains pre-Oscar buzz at the Spirit Awards

While reporters around the world focus attention on the annual Oscar celebration being held this evening, another award ceremony took place this weekend just a few miles west of Hollywood. The 28th annual Film Independent Spirit Awards gala was held yesterday in Santa Monica and hosted by the affable Andy Samberg.images

Honouring the work of independent filmmaking, the ceremony paid tribute to several well-known releases from the past year including Silver Linings Playbook and The Sessions. Silver Linings Playbook took home four trophies for Best Feature, Best Director, Best Screenplay and Best Female Lead, while The Sessions was awarded Best Male Lead and Best Supporting Female.

The event also paid tribute to new filmmakers. The Perks of Being a Wallflower received Best First Feature, and Safety Not Guaranteed won Best First Screenplay. Two indie film distributors fared well at the ceremony with The Weinstein Company taking home four awards, while Fox Searchlight was not far behind with three trophies.

The non-profit Film Independent, which also hosts the Los Angeles Film Festival, runs the Spirit Awards. Film Independent’s members, along with past nominees and winners, decide who receives the trophies. Below is a complete list of winners from this year’s event.

Best Feature: Silver Linings Playbook (The Weinstein Company)
Producers: Bruce Cohen, Donna Gigliotti, Jonathan Gordon

Best Director: David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook (The Weinstein Company)

Best Screenplay: David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook (The Weinstein Company)

Best First Feature: The Perks of Being a Wallflower (Summit Entertainment)
Writer/Director: Stephen Chbosky / Producers: Lianne Halfon, John Malkovich, Russell Smith

Best First Screenplay: Derek Connolly, Safety Not Guaranteed (FilmDistrict)

John Cassavetes Award (For best feature made under $500,000): Middle of Nowhere (AFFRM in partnership with Participant Media)
Writer/Director/Producer: Ava DuVernay / Producers: Howard Barish, Paul Garnes

Best Supporting Female: Helen Hunt, The Sessions (Fox Searchlight)

Best Supporting Male: Matthew McConaughey, Magic Mike (Warner Bros.Pictures)

Best Female Lead: Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook (The Weinstein Company)

Best Male Lead: John Hawkes, The Sessions (Fox Searchlight)

Robert Altman Award: Starlet (Music Box Films)
Director: Sean Baker / Casting Director: Julia Kim / Ensemble Cast: Dree Hemingway, Besedka Johnson, Karren Karagulian, Stella Maeve, James Ransone

Best Cinematography: Ben Richardson, Beasts of the Southern Wild (Fox Searchlight)

Best International Film: Amour (France – Sony Pictures Classics) Director: Michael Haneke

Best Documentary: The Invisible War (Cinedigm Entertainment Group)
Director: Kirby Dick / Producers: Amy Ziering, Tanner King Barklow

Special Distinction: Harris Savides